Return to Headlines

School Board Recognized for Excellence


The Ralston Public Schools Board of Education received the 2022 Board of Excellence Award from the Nebraska Association of School Board (NASB). Members of the Board of Education include Mary Roarty, Robin Richards, Elizabeth Kumru, Dr. Jay Irwin, Merv Riepe, and Samantha Willey.


This recognition shines a light on local school boards for their commitment to achieving excellence in board leadership through continuing education and professional development. NASB presents the award to boards that meet the criteria during the Awards Year. The criteria for this award includes a component for individual and collective commitment to board member professional development. NASB specifically looks at attendance at NASB conferences and workshops to grow board member knowledge and skills, having a board member present at the annual Delegate Assembly, and holding an annual board retreat to discuss and develop goals.


The Board of Excellence Award recognizes our board members' dedication and commitment to growing their knowledge and skills to help them make the best choices for our District.

In addition to the Board Award, individual RPS Board members also earned awards this year.

  • Robin Richards: Level 3 & 4

  • Mary Roarty: Level 5

  • Elizabeth Kumru: Level 5

  • Merv Riepe: Level 2 & 3

  • Samantha Willey: Level 2