Return to Headlines

RPS Leaders Earn Recognition from Nebraska Association of School Boards

All six members of the Ralston Public Schools Board of Education earned recognition from the Nebraska Association of School Boards (NASB) at a regional meeting in La Vista Wednesday evening.

NASB is a private, nonprofit organization that serves the needs of Nebraska public school districts and Educational Service Unit board members.  Nebraska’s 1,700 school board members from across the state may participate in board development training throughout the year by attending workshops and conferences to help strengthen their role in governance, legislative advocacy, and stewardship of district resources in support of student achievement.

In recognition of their volunteer time and commitment to education, the Association commends continued participation and growth in knowledge and best practice governance.  Awards recognize elected leaders from Level 1 to Level 10.  Only eight currently-serving members across Nebraska have achieved the Level 10 award.  Mrs. Linda Richards, RPS Board of Education President, earned her Level 10 recognition Wednesday evening.

Board members receiving Level 2 recognition include Mr. Mike Overkamp, Mrs. Heather Johnson, and Dr. Jay Irwin.  Earning Level 5 recognition were Mrs. Deb Gerch and Mrs. Tresha Rodgers.  


RPS Board of Education with Superintendent Dr. Mark Adler

Pictured above, the RPS Board of Education with Superintendent Dr. Mark Adler.  From left, Dr. Jay Irwin, Mrs. Deb Gerch, Mrs. Heather Johnson, Dr. Mark Adler, Mrs. Linda Richards, Mr. Mike Overkamp, and Mrs. Tresha Rodgers.